Armed Forces of Nigeria

  • Home
  • Armed Forces of Nigeria

The Nigerian Armed Forces are the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Its origins lie in the elements of the Royal West African Frontier Force that became Nigerian when independence was granted in 1960.

In 1956 the Nigeria Regiment of the Royal West African Frontier Force (RWAFF) was renamed the Nigerian Military Forces, RWAFF, and in April 1958 the colonial government of Nigeria took over from the British War Office control of the Nigerian Military Forces.


H.E Bola Ahmed Tinubu GCFR

President, Federal Republic of Nigeria
Major General Christopher Gwabin Musa OFR
Chief of Defence Staff